Voting totals are in and there will be several new local office holders sworn in on the last day of this month. Though the August 2nd election was the primary for the state, it was also the General Election for Jefferson County and the office of Jefferson County Mayor was contested making it the top local ticket on the ballot. Republican representative Mark Potts garnered 5685 votes, which was approximately 67% of the total 8844 that cast votes county wide, to win the seat of Jefferson County Mayor. Potts’ challenger, Independent Mike Dockery, came away with a 2731vote total.

All 21 County Commission seats were up for election and several new faces will be on the Commission floor starting with their September meeting. District One will see no change as incumbents Huffaker ( 669) and Kesterson ( 657) were not challenged. District Two will be represented by incumbent Douglas ( 468) and Patterson ( 439) who will be replacing Gaut ( 330). District Three was the most heavily challenged with eight candidates seeking three seats. The top votes were garnered by incumbent Baxley (626) and new challengers Phagan (621) and Paul Lowe (520) who are replacing Musick (399) and Tabor ( 314). District Four had only one candidate qualify to be on the ballot and three qualify for write in candidates. Langley topped the ticket ( 581) in district four and she will be joined by write in candidate Byrd. District 5 incumbents Seals ( 592) and Solomon (559) were unopposed. District Six incumbents Blevins ( 372) and Eslinger (291) held off challenger Lubas (168), as did District Seven incumbents Bales ( 501) and Scarlett (447) with challenger Smallman ( 190). District Eight had two candidates qualify for the ballot, newly elected Coleman ( 584 ) and incumbent Dockery (574). In District Nine , challenger Walker tied incumbent Carmichael who garnered 409 votes each and unseated incumbent Seal ( 348). District Ten will have all new representation, as no incumbents were on the ballot. The new representatives will be Reed (305) and Thomas (253) also on the ballot was Betts (188).

The Jefferson County School Board will see some new and some familiar faces when it convenes in September. District One School Board representatives Bradley (1291) and Potts (1126) held off challengers Slaton (1031) and Breeden (599) to retain their seats on the Jefferson County School Board. District 3 had no incumbents seeking to retain their seats. Three candidates were on the ballot for District Three, however one has moved from the district and will not qualify to be sworn into office. Leading the ticket for the district, Pinkerton garnered 1140 votes. Despite a late campaign to inform the public that he will not be able to serve, Loveday was the second largest vote recipient with 1002 votes and Burton received 729 votes. One seat will be held by Pinkerton and the second will be on the ballot for the November election for qualified candidates. Interested parties should contact the local election commission for information.

Other local unopposed winners include Sheriff Coffey (7283), Circuit Court Clerk Poe (6844), County Clerk Herndon (7371), Register of Deeds Stiner ( 6970), Trustee Hall (6764), Highway Commission District 1 Woods ( 1801), Batson (1659), Highway Commission District 3 Simpson (1491), Smith (1159), Constable District 1 (756), Constable District 8 (657).

On the state ticket, Lee brought in 2647 votes in Jefferson County to make him the local favorite for the Office of Governor on the republican ticket. His closest competition on the local front was Boyd who came away with 1884 local votes followed by Harwell ( 1533) and Black (1463). Local election results largely mirrored the state picture with only Harwell and Black exchanging positions for third and fourth place vote recipients. Blackburn (5484) will face off against Bredesen ( 1056) in November. Roe showed strong locally with 1202 votes for District 1 US House of Representatives. Burchett received 2558 votes in Jefferson County and his closest competitor, Matlock, for US House of Representatives for District 2 garnered 1999. Burchett won the ticket and will face democrat challenger Hoyos ( 606) in November. Incumbent Faison for State TN House District 11 outdistanced his challenger Fodness nearly three to one with Faison bringing in 1875 votes and Fodness 644 locally.

Both Faison and Farmer (Tn House District 17) will have challengers in November. Fain won the republican nod for State Committeewoman and Cadle will be the democrat representative on the ticket. Unopposed on the ticket for Judicial seats were Moore Circuit judge Part I District 4 (6679) and Circuit Judge Part II District 4 Gass (6852).

Office of Governor for the State of Tennessee, as well as US House and Senate and State House seats will be on the ballot for the State General Election in November.

Source: K. Depew, News Director