Jefferson County Schools Create ACT Task Force

ACT Task Force Jefferson County 1 09302018Jefferson County Schools has created an ACT Task Force to help strengthen the preparation of students in the school district for success on the ACT.

The focus of the group will be to build a bridge between all grade strands so that the ACT test is not just seen as a high school initiative, but teachers and students are all working from early elementary through high school graduation to help students succeed on the test.

The initial meeting was held on Wednesday, September 19 at Jefferson County High School. The group worked to identify areas that needed to be addressed to help both students and teachers during this process.

The alignment of standards, format of the test, and pathways to post-secondary success were some of the areas identified as growth opportunities.

The group is comprised of district-wide content specialists, classroom teachers from each school and across grade strands, and administrators.

Members of the ACT Task Force include Jessica Hungate, Leigh Daley, Stephanie Lester, Melissa Graf, Amy Johnson, Michelle Evans, Nick Oakes, Tricia Swann, Leah Hill, Michael Horner, Jessica Estepp, LeAnna Miller, Emily Shoultz, Kevin Cline, Jerri Brock, Matt Abernathy, Rebecca Campbell, Dominique Davis, Sherry Finchum, Mandy Schneitman, and Shane Johnston.

The group will meet again in November with Jerry Maynor from the Tennessee Department of Education who will be the guest facilitator.