General Assembly Enhances Tennessee’s Statue Of Limitation Laws Against Child Predators

Members of the House and Senate overwhelmingly approved legislation designed to enhance Tennessee’s Statute of Limitations laws against child predators this year.

House Bill 565 removes the statute of limitations for all felony crimes committed against a child if the victim is under 13 years of age or if he or she is 13-17 years old and reports the crime to someone by their 23rd birthday.

If a victim is 13-17 and does not report the crime by their 23rd birthday, the statute of limitations is 25 years from their 18th birthday. After those 25 years, a case can also proceed if there is corroborating evidence of the allegations or similar acts by the defendant.

Source: Andy Farmer