Governor Lee, Commissioner Rolfe Announce 62 Communities to Receive Community Development Block Grants

Grants will assist communities with local infrastructure, housing and safety improvements

Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee and Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe recently approved $28.5 million in Community Development Block Grants (CDBG), which will assist communities with infrastructure improvements, housing rehabilitations and health and safety initiatives.

“Investing in local infrastructure is one of our top priorities, and these funds will play a vital role as communities work to update their assets and keep their communities safe,” said Lee. “These recipients are proactively preparing their communities for future economic opportunities and continued growth.”

“Community Development Block Grants are an enormous asset to communities across Tennessee,” Rolfe said. “The 62 communities receiving CDBG funding will be better equipped for future economic opportunities, which in turn, will help our state continue to grow and succeed. I congratulate these recipients and look forward to seeing the successes in each community in the years to come.”

The allocation of CDBG funds is based on priorities set through the public meeting process at the local community level. The CDBG program is funded through HUD and administered in Tennessee by the Department of Economic and Community Development. Funds are available for water and sewer improvements and new extensions, housing rehabilitation and health and safety projects.

Below is a list of the 62 Community Development Block Grants:

Community Project  Amount
Altamont Water System Improvements $630,000
Bethel Springs Water System Improvements $313,049
Bolivar Sewer System Improvements $361,000
Brighton Drainage Improvements $326,679
Brownsville Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Bruceton Sewer System Improvements $511,750
Carroll County Fire Protection $371,700
Carthage Fire Protection $296,024
Celina Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Claiborne County Water Line Extension $630,000
Clay County EMS Improvements $206,706
Cookeville Sewer System Improvements $580,675
Decatur Water System Improvements $630,000
Decherd Emergency Warning System $130,500
Ducktown Water System Improvements $630,000
Englewood Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Enville Housing Rehabilitation $525,000
Grand Junction Sewer System Improvements $209,760
Graysville Fire Protection $420,000
Grundy County Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Hardin County Fire Protection $290,112
Harriman Water System Improvements $630,000
Harrogate Sewer Line Extension $474,030
Henderson County Fire Protection $288,176
Huntsville Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Jacksboro Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Jamestown Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Jefferson City Sewer System Improvements $629,993
Jefferson County EMS Improvements $420,000
Johnson County EMS Improvements $293,582
Lauderdale County Water System Improvements $547,662
Lawrence County Water Line Extension $630,000
Lawrenceburg Street Light Improvements $268,180
Lewisburg Sewer System Improvements $450,000
Loudon Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Luttrell Sewer System Improvements $524,342
Mason Water Line Extension $431,935
Meigs County Water System Improvements $630,000
Monroe County Water Line Extension $630,000
Mount Carmel Water System Improvements $476,182
Oakdale EMS Improvements $290,535
Obion County Sewer System Improvements $564,000
Oneida Water System Improvements $630,000
Overton County Fire Protection $420,000
Pulaski Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Putnam County Fire Protection $318,750
Rutherford Water System Improvements $276,854
Saltillo Emergency Warning System $112,601
Savannah Sewer System Improvements $600,000
Sevier County Water System Improvements $215,426
Smith County Emergency Rescue Improvements $285,600
South Carthage Housing Rehabilitation $298,100
Spring City Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Springfield Sewer System Improvements $630,000
Stanton Sewer System Improvements $513,188
Surgoinsville Water System Improvements $468,700
Tipton County Emergency Rescue Improvements $355,833
Tusculum Fire Protection $298,075
Unicoi County Sewer Line Extension $377,311
Van Buren County EMS Improvements $341,088
Vanleer Water System Improvements $458,000
Warren County Fire Protection $370,829


Each application was supported by the community’s senator and representatives in the Tennessee General Assembly.

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development

The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development’s mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment to the state and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: Follow us on Twitter and Instagram: @tnecd. Like us on Facebook: