National Championship To Be an All SEC Affair

Tonight’s College Football Playoff National Championship Game is gearing up.  Fans from both divisions of the SEC are drawing their lines, and fans from other conferences are telling tales of how they were robbed.  Some fans believed that Alabama didn’t deserve their number four spot, and other fans have made their opinions known about having two competitors from the same conference. The national title matchup has had its share of controversy.  Regardless of opinions, the Georgia Bulldogs and the Alabama Crimson Tide busted through the ranks, survived playoffs, and will face off at 8:45 p.m in Atlanta.

The last all SEC matchup occurred in 2011, when Alabama steamrolled the LSU Tigers, well before the Playoff System began in 2014.

Number three ranked Georgia produced one of the most exciting games of the College Football season to secure their spot in the National Championship.  The Bulldogs defeated number two ranked Oklahoma 54-48.  The high scoring Rose Bowl went in to double overtime in Pasadena to grant Georgia’s place at Mercedes Benz Stadium.

Delayed by the battle going on at the Rose Bowl, the Sugar Bowl took place shortly after.  Alabama, who was ranked number four, shocked the number one ranked Clemson Tigers 24-6.  The dominating performance earned the Crimson Tide their place, and gave them the four point advantage over the Georgia Bulldogs.

The Clemson Tigers were the ones that defeated Alabama in the 2016-17 College Football National Championship to take the title.  Alabama has taken the title 16 times, the latest being in the 2015-16 season.  Four of those are under current coach, Nick Saban.   Georgia on the other hand, hasn’t claimed the crown in 38 years.  Georgia’s current head coach, Kirby Smart, is a former Alabama Assistant.  He happened to be on staff for the Tide’s latest national title.

This season has been unprecedented and unpredictable, so it is anyone’s guess who will go home with all the glory tonight.  At least one thing is for certain, it will be a team from the Southeastern Conference for the 43rd time.

Angie Cox Article Lower 650 Ad 2016